“Fear of a name only increases fear of the thing itself.” -Hermione

According to Merriam Webster, a phobia is  an exaggerated usually inexplicable and illogical fear of a particular object, class of objects, or situation. Phobias can pretty much be anything. I have three, Megalohydrothalassophobia,  and bathophobia. Megalohydrothalassophobia is the fear of the unknown and-or large objects underwater. I am deathly afraid of getting into a lake because I feel like if I do something will grab me and eat me and I am even more afraid of going into the ocean because a shark can come attack me. I have had so many dreams where an alligator or shark is trying to attack me. Twice now those dreams consisted of my wonderful husband risking his own life to save mine. I hate those kinds of dreams, though, because I wake up in a panic, sweating and freaking out. This happened just the other day, which is mostly what prompted this post. Bathophobia is the fear of falling from a high place. I have always had this fear and sometimes it can be intense. I can go on rollercoasters but I freak out when they go upside down. Just last month we went on vacation for our belated honeymoon/first anniversary trip and my husband got me to go on Dr. Doom’s Fear Fall and I almost passed out and I was shaking the whole time standing in line then for about ten minutes after we got off. It was so scary. He also, somehow, got me to go into the Characters of Flight hot air ballon and then wanted me to move. I was frozen with terror. I just don’t know how he gets me to do these things but one day it’s going to kill me.

Everyone has a fear, whether they would like to admit it or not. You may be afraid of many things, I know I am. Fear can take many forms and can come all of the sudden or worsen as you age. For example, I used to love getting into the lake and swimming in ponds but as I have gotten older, I am more and more afraid of doing such things. If I tried to do it now, I’d probably have a heart attack!

Many times, the things we love the most are our fears. Whether its fear of losing it or fear of it meaning too much to us that it takes us over, we become afraid. I’m afraid of losing the people I love the most, like my husband, my family, my friends, they all mean so much to me and I just don’t know what I would do without them. I am so afraid that, with my husband being so much older than me, he will die way before me. I am afraid that my best friend will lose contact with me due to my moving farther away from her.

Please, share with us what your fears are and how you overcome them. Is it a crippling fear? Does your dear embarrass you? Is it a phobia?

Here’s a photo of some alligators I took when I was in SC…terrifying!

Alligators

Leave a Reply

