“This is the price you pay for having a great father. You get the wonder, the joy, the tender moments – and you get the tears at the end, too.” -Harlan Coben

Tomorrow is a special day that we, as children, get to celebrate our fathers or father figures. For me, there were two special men in my life. On May 23, 2015 I gained another father figure. I love all three of these men so much, even if one of them is not with me any more. I want to with them a very happy fathers day and let them all know that they are loved. The three men in my life are my uncle Dirk, my grandpa Ed, and my Father-in-law Hector Sr. They have, and still do, give so much of their time to their kids and sometimes get nothing to show for it. My grandpa passed away in May of 2009 and I wish I had shown him how much he really meant to me because I know that I was a pain growing up and he didn’t deserve that. Because of these three men, I celebrate this Father’s day with happiness in my heart, looking forward to many memories to come and them memories that I hold deep in my heart.

Always celebrate your father figure, even if you don’t call them dad. A father figure can be anyone, a teacher, a mom, a grandpa, a mentor, an uncle, literally anyone can be a father figure. I am lucky enough to have three. Happy Fathers Day to all of the men (and women), whether living or deceased who have changed lives and been there for a child who needed you the most. We thank you for all of your hard work, sacrifice, tears, and sweat. Enjoy this day, dedicated to you!

dirk-1
My Uncle Dirk took me in when and he and my aunt took care of his older brother Doyle and his wife as well as me after the car accident. They sacrificed so much and gained so little.
522016_373526282668307_868615822_n-1
My grandpa was a joker. He loved to make jokes and tease people. It’s something that I miss. He gave me so much of his time and I gave him so little in return. I wish more than anything to give him a hug and thank him for everything he taught me. I wish I could have had a last goodbye to let him know how much he really means to me.
11407236_1436460259995701_8584844661207232616_n
My father-in-law has given so much of himself to his two kids and continues to do so for me as well. I thank him for being the example that he was and is to my husband and sister-in-law.
Leave a Reply

