“Growing up, I would watch a movie on video and would go to the back of the VHS and locate the address for Universal Pictures or MGM or whatever. I’d write to the studios asking them if I could be in a movie. They never wrote me back.” -Garrett Hedlund

From now on, my monthly updates on Universal Studios Hollywood will be a little different. I got a job there so I can tell you first hand about crowds, since I will be dealing with them. However, I will not see the crowds for rides or food, as I am in retail, but I can let you know how crowded each month is and what I hear about the lines from guests.

First of all, I want to let you know that if you are riding Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey and it stops, it could very well be because someone in a wheelchair is getting on. It doesn’t mean that it broke down, even though the announcement says there may be a difficulty. I have guests getting upset about it quite often and I just wanted to clear the air. Even if you don’t personally see the person in the wheelchair, it doesn’t mean they aren’t there. They don’t always use the same line as you, as there is an elevator for them.

Now, the crowds in May were certainly picking up but we, thankfully, not too bad. I was able to attend the park as a guest a couple of times in the month and experience new things, of which I will be reporting on in this post. The longest line in the park was for Harry Potter and the Forbidden Journey, which was a little over an hour-long. FYI, the easiest way to see wait times is to download the mobile app, it gives you wait times for every attraction.

20138026_1703909299917461_186553849_oOne new thing that I did was the Walking Dead attraction. For me, it was a lot less scary than I was expecting. It was still really well done and fun, though. I actually ended up going through it twice in one day, with different people. I love how everything is set up in the line queue, it really sucks you into the actual world.

20148857_1703909546584103_819448963_oNext, we road on the Tram, which is always fun. They had new surprises waiting for us, which is always a great way to keep season pass holder interested. I won’t spoil the fun for you so I didn’t take any pictures of it. But, I can tell you that the other stuff, like King Kong and Fast and Furious are still there and still the main thing that attracts people to it.

20138003_1703909533250771_1951695529_oThis month I finally had the opportunity to eat at the Three Broomsticks. If you haven’t been, I highly recommend it. I got the rib plate with a salad and it was so good. It makes my mouth water just looking at the picture. The sides were corn on the cob and potatoes, both of which were excellent. I honestly can’t wait to go again.

If you were there in May and have any extra tips in information, please leave a comment below. I hope you had a fun time reading my post this month and hope that you will come again next month.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

