“You want, as an artist, to be pushing yourself to do what you haven’t done before.” -T. C. Boyle

17407585_1653152884993103_355375473_o          On Thursday evening I was given the opportunity to meet one of my favorite authors. T.C. Boyle came to Reedley College and I jumped at the chance to see him. I didn’t always name him as one of my favorite authors, I was actually just introduced to his work last summer when I had to purchase Tortilla Curtain for a class I was enrolled in but had to drop. I then had to buy the T.C. Boyle Stories II for my current fictional writing class.

T.C. Boyle’s visit was the last of a whole set of speakers at Reedley College but he was the only one I was able to go see. I17430962_1653152811659777_1552946766_o had known about his spot shortly after the
semester began so it’s been on the calendar for about two months. Going to see him in person and listen to him read “Chicxulub” made me have an even deeper appreciation for him and his writing.

Many may not have ever heard of T.C. Boyle but I encourage you to read any of his amazing stories or novels. If you ever have the chance to go and listen to him live, I would hope you would take that opportunity just as I did. I will post a few notes I took so you can get a feeling for what he said.17474292_1653152838326441_1942343247_o

  • Went to public school in New York
  • Middle Class family
  • He wrote Tortilla Curtain to sort out all of his feelings
  • Everything he writes is a kind of dream
  • He says he’s not retired, he’s “pre-dead”
  • Art takes you out of yourself
  • Advice on how to become a writer: come from a wealthy family (LOL)
  • If it doesn’t work after 2 pages, throw it away
  • Water Music was is first novel and it is his favorite
  • If you want to write, you need to read

Again, it was such an honor to meet T.C. Boyle and I encourage everyone to go out and get familiar with his work because you won’t be sorry.

17474100_1653152724993119_1124326754_o          If you have read his work or have had the opportunity to meet with him, please tell me what your favorite story or novel is that his has written. One that really sticks with me is his short story “The Underground Gardens” because it takes a historical place in Fresno and turns it into a story that is so raw, and so beautiful. I almost wish that it was longer so that I could read more.

As always, I am very grateful for you coming to my blog. Feel free to comment below with any questions about seeing T.C. Boyle.

17454968_1653152951659763_802593146_o

Leave a Reply

