“Some family trees have beautiful leaves, and some have just a bunch of nuts. Remember, it is the nuts that make the tree worth shaking.” –Unknown

Learning about where we come from is something that many people are interested Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 1.19.10 PMin today. My grandma was greatly involved in family history and found links to trace our lineage pretty far back. I’ve always wanted to do the same but I get lost as to where to go from here. There is one person, in particular, who is even more lost than I am. That person is my wonderful father-in-law.

He has continuously expressed interest in family history and in finding his father, who ha had never met. My husband and I decided to start the process by purchasing Ancestry DNA kit. We were all very anxious to see what the results would be and if there would be any links to his father.

Several weeks after receiving the DNA sample, Ancestry emailed me to inform me that there had been a great number of samples sent in after the holidays and that they expected it to take more than the estimated 6-8 weeks.

Finally, I had an email waiting in my inbox stating that the results are ready for viewing. I tried very hard not to look at them because I wanted it to be a surprise for everyone. I shielded the results from my view, printed out the summary, then folded it and sealed it in an envelop.

Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 1.17.52 PM

We were able to give my father-in-law the good news this past weekend and boy was it worth it. He was so ecstatic! He loved the results of where the DNA shows his lineage and he especially loved that there were so many DNA matches. The best part? His mom had taken a DNA test and we didn’t even know but she and his half-sister came up on his results. Screen Shot 2017-03-14 at 1.19.59 PM

Some of you may be wondering, how do I do this? How much does it cost? Is it safe? To answer you, you order it online (there are many places), there is a price but each place is different, and yes, this particular place is safe.

Here is a list of the top four sites for DNA kits:

  1. Ancestry ($99, unless on sale)
  2. 23 and Me ($99-$199, depending on what package)
  3. My Heritage ($99, unless on sale)
  4. Family Tree DNA ($79-$199, depending on what package)

According to various sites and articles, every source for DNA testing has its advantages and disadvantages. We went with Ancestry because we know the site and we trust it. Others may hate the site. It all depends on personal preference and budget. If you don’t have a price point, you could the most expensive option but if you are on a tight budget, a cheaper route may be best.

I wish I had more background information on DNA kits but I don’t. I haven’t found anyone who has done one using anything other than Ancestry. When I do get more information, I’ll try to post again with more information.

As always, thank you for coming to my blog. I hope you enjoyed it! Don’t forget to follow so you can receive updates on my blog.

Leave a Reply

