“When you arise in the morning, think of what a precious privilege it is to be alive – to breathe, to think, to enjoy, to love.” -Marcus Aurelius

screen-shot-2017-02-13-at-8-15-08-pm
What is privilege? According to Merriam Webster the definition of privilege is “a right or immunity granted as a peculiar benefit, advantage, or favor :  prerogative; especially :  such a right or immunity attached specifically to a position or an office.” The definition used for kids is “a right or liberty granted as a favor or benefit especially to some and not others.” Are we privileged? What makes a person privileged? I know that I am privileged, though when I took a Buzzfeed quiz it states that I am not. It also said that my husband is most privileged, which is interesting. I found the quiz the other day while I was sucked into watching Buzzfeed videos, which most of us know that’s easy to do. I stumbled across the video “How Privileged Are You?” The video takes 8 people from different walks of life and they all take this quiz of 100 questions together. For the quiz, you check which statements apply to your life. There are 100 statements about race, religion, education, wealth, and so much more.
I read a few comments on the video asking why there were no questions about abuse or the like. Abuse isn’t about whether you are privileged or not. Privilege is not like that at all. There are, however, privileges connected with being a certain gender, religion, race, or status. It is not a rule, however, that the middle age white man is more privileged than that of a middle age Native American woman. Like my husband and I, I am Caucasian and he is Mexican. Right off the bat people would say that I am more privileged than he is purely because of my skin color. This is not the case, though. You can see my husband’s results above and my results below. He scored 76 out of 100 whereas I scored 45 out of 100.
I know that, though this says I am not privileged, I most certainly am. The only reason I scored so low is because of my childhood. I was homeless, I skipped meals, I was teased and bullied. I was actually even bullied for being white. You don’t hear of that often but it happened. I was bullied all growing up, even into college. I know am I privileged now, though. I had a house, I am married to an amazing person and we can get by without me working. Some families do not of the privilege of surviving on one income. I have a car, I never have to worry about going hungry, I have clean clothes to wear. Yes, I hear ridicule about the religion I have chosen to be apart of but there are other religions who are suffering more.
Times aren’t like they were in the 1800’s, Mormons aren’t being murdered for no reason anymore. Other people are, such as Muslims. It breaks my heart to go on Facebook and see videos of a woman who was assaulted due to what she was wearing or men who talk about how others were shouting at them to “go back to their country” and calling them terrorists. What a world we live in.
I don’t think I have ever gotten really political on a post in the 4 years I have had this blog running but my heart goes out to those who are suffering. There are many who have lost so much and people look down on them, even though the losses were out of their control.
Please take the time out of your busy day to take the quiz How Privileged Are You? Check(list) your privilege. You won’t regret it. Also, remember that whether you score high or low, there is nothing to be ashamed of. Don’t be ashamed that you went to an Ivy League school but your best friend could barely afford a city college. Don’t be ashamed that your mom fed you hamburgers out of the dumpster while your classmates ate at Olive Garden. Where you went to school or what you ate as a kid doesn’t define you, your actions and words do. Just be a good human being, privilege or not.

screen-shot-2017-02-12-at-1-42-01-pm

Leave a Reply

