“This fire that we call Loving is too strong for human minds. But just right for human souls.” -Aberjhani

My first holiday post on my blog in 2013 was for Valentine’s Day and I haven’t done one for the same holiday since then. I know, terrible. It may not change every year but it does happen every year. So, I decided to be a bit of research as to why we celebrate this holiday and what I found was interesting.

In order to learn more I turned to Google. I found an article titled Valentine’s Day History as well as a video called Bet You Didn’t know: Valentine’s Day. One thing I noticed in both the article and the video was that it isn’t completely clear as to which St. Valentine we are celebrating. There were three and they all appear to have been put to death on February 14. First you have the Priest who was put to death for performing illegal marriages, in that time young men were not allowed to get married but we supposed to be soldiers instead. Another was a bishop in Terni, and the third St. Valentine, there is almost nothing known about him or his life,except that he met his end in Africa.

Growing up I was told that Valentine’s day originated by a man who was an abusive murderer of women and I always thought it was ironic. In my research, that was proven wrong with every link I sought out. According to the above article and video, it started out as a celebration of fertility. The celebration changed several times and by the 15th century greeting cards were exchanged. Now, about 1 billion cards are given out each Valentine’s Day all around the world. Considering the fact that there are about 7 billion people in the world and you take away those who live in poor countries then 1 billion people exchanging cards is a ton of paper.

16732168_1638455123129546_656703001_oNow that we know a little bit about the history of valentine’s day, why do YOU celebrate? How do you celebrate? What is your worst or best Valentine’s Day memory? Please share bellow. And, as always, thank you for stopping by to read my posts.

Leave a Reply

