Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life.” -Confucius

Today I want to talk about something that we all go through and that is applying for a job. The process of applying for a job has changed in the past several years. How many of you have heard your parents or grandparents say something along the lines of “Just go in and talk to someone, if you show them you really want the job then they’ll hire you” or maybe something more like this “What do you mean they won’t hire you because of your lack of experience? They have to hire you in order for you to gain experience. You’re just not trying hard enough” and finally, my favorite “If you really wanted that job then you would have it. Obviously you didn’t show your interest.” I don’t know about you but I get tire of hearing this all the time. I was talking to fellow blogger, Redheaded Owl, about how searching for a job can be hard when you don’t have the experience they want you to have which led us to talking about how much the job hunt has changed since our parents were younger and looking for their first job. “My dad literally went up to someone he knew and told them that he was looking for a job. He said ‘Hey, I need a job. I don’t have experience but I’m a hard worker.’ and they hired him right there.That doesn’t happen now.”

All too often the generation before us puts us down and tells us that we aren’t trying hard enough to get a job. However, they don’t realize this difference that we face in the hunt for work.They still think it’s that easy, they think we can just walk in and get a job. Sadly, most of the time they just refer you to their online application, where they don’t get to know you and they never meet you. They just look at your job experience and if you don’t have what they’re looking for they pass you up.

I had an interview a couple of weeks ago at a food place. It was actually a very sudden thing. I went in to turn in my resume and the manager set up an interview for me that day. When I went back for my interview, she just told me that she was worried that I had no experience in the food industry. She was nice and I appreciated her honesty but I knew that I wouldn’t get the job because she continued to tell me about how she hired inexperienced people before and they never lasted. I talked to my husband about how the interview went and guess what his response was. “How can you get experience if they won’t hire you?” I think that is the one phrases I really get tired of hearing. Very few companies want to take a chance on someone with no experience. Let alone a 20 something year old who has only had a few jobs that lasted a few months each.

Anyway, I know this is more of a rant but I have been dealing with this issue since I was 16, which is when society expects you to get your first job. I was lucky enough to get the few jobs I did get. My previous boss was kind enough to hire me but that’s because one of her longest employees recommended me.

i-love-my-job

Please share in the comments how you overcame today’s tough job search or what your family and friends tell you all too often when you don’t land a job.

As always, thank you for reading and I hope to see you back here next time.

“If you hire people just because they can do a job, they’ll work for your money. But if you hire people who believe what you believe, they’ll work for you with blood, sweat, and tears.” -Simon Sinek

Leave a Reply

