“Psychologist William James said that possibly the deepest human need is the need to feel appreciated.” -Gary Chapman

Each person feels love in different ways. There is a test you can take the Five Love Languages test here. There are, as it says in the title, 5 love languages; words of affirmation,quality time,receiving gifts, acts of service,  and physical touch. When I first heard about the love languages, I was on my mission. My companion, Sister G., and I were on an exchange and I was with Sister B. She and I were discussing issues I was experiencing at that time and she explained the concept with me. Deciding that physical touch seemed to be my top love language, we continued with that. Sister G hated physical touch, she never wanted any hugs or anything…ever. It was hard for me because I am a hugger, I hug everyone. I didn’t know what to do with that information so I forgot about it. A few months ago, I was thinking about ways I could show love to my husband and the conversation I had with Sister B. came to mind. I proceeded to look up the official quiz and I took it for myself. I was a little surprised to learn that physical touch was not my number one. At 24, when I had taken the official test, These were my results: Words of Affirmation (5), Quality Time (11), Receiving Gifts (4), Acts of Service (4), and Physical Touch (6). The issue with the way we feel love is that its not always the same way those in our lives feel love. Sister G. didn’t feel love with physical touch nor did she feel love with quality time. Looking back, I’d say her number one love language was acts of service. I knew I didn’t want to focus on giving love in the way I feel love so I had my husband take the test after he got home from work. His results were very different from mine; Words of Affirmation (8), Quality Time (6), Receiving Gifts (2), Acts of Service (10), and Physical Touch (4). If we compare my top 2 we get: Quality Time (11) vs. (6) and Physical touch (6) vs. (4). If we compare his top 2 we get: Acts of Service (10) vs. (4) and Words of Affirmation (8) vs. (5). Do you see the difference in our love languages? I do! So, now that I have this information, how to I show him love and how should he show me love? The following image shows what each love language is, how to express it, and what to do after a conflict.

love-languages

I want to extend the invitation to you, reader, to go to the page above and take the test. After you do so, share the test with those you love. Share your number one love language and ask them theirs, you want to know how to show them love and I’m sure you want them to show you love in the way you feel love.

If you have taken the test before, please share your results in the comments below. Thank you for reading!

Leave a Reply

