“In this town we call home Everyone hail to the pumpkin song” -Nightmare Before Christmas

If you know me, you should know what my number one favorite holiday is. Yes, HALLOWEEN! Some people may not like the holiday for their own personal reasons but I absolutely love it. The dressing up, the candy, the decorating, the haunted houses, it’s all wonderful. Last year we had a big Halloween party and all of our close friends came, we had trick-or-treaters coming to our door for a few hours, so much was going on. This year, we did nothing. We bought some candy, hoping someone would stop by but they didn’t. Oh well, more for me.

Anyway, I saw a meme last night that made me sad. Halloween may be my number one holiday but as soon as it’s November, I start counting down to my second favorite holiday: Thanksgiving.

You thought I was going to say Christmas, didn’t you? Honestly, Christmas isn’t even my top five. But this meme made meno pretty sad because every year, people skip over Thanksgiving. Yes, they celebrate it but all they are really worried about is Christmas. I just don’t understand why such an amazing day gets skipped over every year. Stores advertise Christmas for 6 months of the year, yes there may be a small isle or two of Thanksgiving int he craft stores but for the most part they got from Halloween to BAM! Christmas the next day. Just like Disney does in this video. I understand that it’s a big holiday but it’s overrated. It’s all about buy, buy, buy. I’m sick of it and if it didn’t mean so much to my husband and his family, I would probably boycott Christmas altogether because of how sick I am over the over advertisement of Christmas.  It’s great that there is a holiday somewhat dedicated to the birth of Jesus Christ but honestly, it’s so overdone with presents and Santa Clause that He gets forgotten. I’d rather celebrate Him another way and separate it all. Yes, giving gifts to those you love is great but there’s just so much pressure on what to get, how much to spend, where to buy, what will they really like, etc. I’m just over it, I was over it in August. Yes, there was Christmas stuff out in August.

Anyway, this is why Thanksgiving is so wonderful. Yes, there may be pressure on the people cooking the wonderful dinner but if you divide it up, no one gets overly stressed. It’s a holiday all about coming together, you don’t have to give anyone anything, you don’t have to spend millions on decorations just so your house will look as good as the neighbor. It’s not about competition, it’s about being thankful.

I apologize if I rambled, I just wish there was less Christmas and more of other holidays. Sometimes Christmas overruns everything else in life. Please, feel free to share what your favorite holiday is in the comments.

Leave a Reply

