“First steps are always the hardest but until they are taken the notion of progress remains only a notion and not an achievement.” ―Aberjhani

November is fast approaching and with it comes new chapters for the year. If any of you are writers, you probably know about NaNoWriMo, or National Novel Writing Month. If you have never heard of it or if you aren’t sure of what it is exactly, it’s where you write out a novel in one month. Your goal is to write at least 50,000 words in the month of November. You can also get more information on their website here.

For some writing 50,000 words seems insane. Why would anyone do such a thing? How could anyone do such a thing? For you, I say this: yes, it is insane but when you’re doing something you love, it’ll always seem insane to someone. There are thousands of people who do NaNoWriMo and succeed. Some of them have full-time jobs, some go to school, some do both. It’s all a matter of time management.

You may ask “How did you come across this? I’ve never heard anything about it.” I hadn’t, either, until this month. It’s been going on since, according to their website, 1999 but I never knew about it until now. When I first found out about it, I fell in love with the idea but told myself I’d wait until next year to do it because it’s just not enough time to prepare for it this year. Well, I changed my mind and joined this year. I have the rest of this week to finish any preparations for my story before it officially begins. I made myself a new bullet journal for my book and I have made a few different helpful spreads so far.

Spreads I’m including:

  • Master list of characters
  • Master list of settings
  • Word trackers
  • List of essential items for the month
  • Notes from meetings with my local NaNoWriMo group
  • Brief outline for each chapter
  • Weekly review pages
  • Anything else I find useful from YouTube videos

This may not be your cup of tea but for me, it’s exciting. I feel like it’s that extra push I needed to get me to write what I’ve been thinking on for the last 6 or more years. IT’s better late than never, though, right?

If you have any Pro-nano tips, please share in the comments below. I’d love to hear what your experiences have been for NaNoWriMo. I hope you enjoyed this! Check out what it’s all about, you may want to join, too!

NaNoWriMo survival kit videos

Plan a novel

NaNoWriMo 2016 videos

National Novel Writing Month YouTube Channel

Leave a Reply

