“I do believe that if you haven’t learnt about sadness, you cannot appreciate happiness.” -Nana Mouskouri

The headline read “Mother, infant critical after collision” and I knew who it was about. I called her earlier in the morning to talk about college stuff. Only, her voice wasn’t the one on the phone when answered. It was her mom. “Hey!” I said, excited to talk about school stuff. “This is her mom. [She] was and [her daughter] were hit by a car this morning on the way to daycare.”

Isn’t it funny that when it rains it pours? People say that famous people die is threes, or that bad things happen in bunches. Well, I’d like it to stop now. First my aunt went into the hospital and we were told that she wouldn’t make it more than a week. She ended up recovering and she’s going home from the hospital next week. Then it was my husband’s friend; he was in a motorcycle accident while I was visiting my aunt. He has a couple broken bones and had to have surgery but he’s at home recovering. Now, my best friend and her 1 and a half year old daughter were hit by a car as they were crossing the street. His excuse? According to an article in the local newspaper “The driver…said the bright sun and pillar in his vehicle prevented him from seeing the woman and child as they entered the crosswalk.”

My heart aches right now but I know she will be ok. Β My friend’s little girl is at home with dad, she has a fractured skull but she’s doing ok. My friend, though, is still at the hospital. They are waiting to see if physical therapy helps before they do any surgery.

I don’t have much to say right now, I just know that I needed to express my feelings before I burst. I wasn’t there but I keep seeing her little girl, hurt and lying on the ground helpless while my friend is trapped under the car. I just don’t know what to do right now.

I ask that everyone who is religious to pray for her and her little girl. If you’re not religious, please just send positive vibes and thoughts their way. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

