“All our dreams can come true, if we have the courage to pursue them.” -Walt Disney

disneySince last week I have thought about what I would post about pertaining to my planning and adventures to Orlando, Florida. It was an amazing experience but wouldn’t have happened the way it did without prior preparation and planning. And, as I said last week, without the help of Shannon fromΒ WDW Prep School. This week, I want to discuss how I picked my date.

If any of you noticed, in my post last week, I said it was our honeymoon/first anniversary trip. I call it that because it was our planned honeymoon that we wanted to take right after the wedding but were unable to, due to short funds and other things coming up. It happened for the best, though. We then pushed it back to January or February 2016, we were going to make it part of my birthday. This also fell through for one reason or another. Finally, in early November 2015, we settled on May, for our anniversary. And we booked it early enough to be able to make early character meal plans. It is recommended to do so 180 days before the first day of your trip and we were able to do that.

Shannon goes into more detail on how to pick the perfect date. If you’re not going for a special occasion, like we did, then you have a few different things to consider; what is the weather typically like at the time you’re thinking of going? What are the crowds like? Is it during their peak season or their off-season? Shannon goes over all of this and more.

When we went in May 22-29, 2016, the weather was almost perfect; it was warm but not hot during the day and cold but not freezing at night. I would suggest a light sweater for the cooler evenings. It didn’t rain at all while we were there but we had ponchos just in case. The crowds were relatively low, even with schools going on field trips there during our week. Many school in the neighboring states take trips there. We went through lines fairly quickly. The time of year we went was not quite their peak season, schools hadn’t gotten out yet and it was mostly during the week.

I know that this isn’t a how-to or an advice column but more of a referral post but Shannon gives the best advice and she knows what she’s doing. I just want to give you a first-timers perspective. Thank you for reading my Disney posts! I’ll keep posting as often as I can. There’s more to be discussed! Comment below with any tips on how to pick the perfect date for your Disney trip

Leave a Reply

