“Family is not an important thing. It’s everything.” -Michael J. Fox

There have been so many people asking about our future and we have only been married for a year. I was getting asked everywhere I went, by everyone, when we are going to have children. One day, at my previous job, I was having a conversation with a coworker. She asked when I was planning on having kids. I told that we were waiting until after our Disney World trip. Her reply still annoys me to this day; “Oh wow, way to sort your priorities.” Just don’t, EVER, say that to someone. She’s been married for a few years and doesn’t have any children yet. Are her priorities wrong? And she didn’t mean it in a nice way. Just because we’ve been married for a little over a year does NOT mean that we need to start popping out babies. Some couples want to focus on alone time together before they add a third person to the equation. Yes, we would love to have children. Now is not the time, though.

It’s not only to have fun and be free, though it is a perk. Hector, my husband, just started a new job and we’re moving to a new place, out of Fresno. We’re moving into a tiny studio and we want to wait until we are settled in a better living situation next year.

It will happen, on our timing not yours. So please, stop asking. I don’t make this post to be rude. It happens to newly married couples all too often. I know plenty of newlyweds who are already expecting or who have just had a baby. We just chose to wait a bit. We have time, I still have a while before I dry up.

Next time you want to ask your friend, for the millionth time, when they are having a baby, stop…they get it enough. And if you’re that important, they’ll tell you when they are pregnant; whether it be in person, over the phone, in a message or letter, or on Facebook, you’ll know.

I’m not the only one who feels this way, here’s a thread from Wedding Bee that speaks on the issue.

Thank you for reading and I apologize if this came off as rude. I just get tired of the same question getting ask with everything I do.

Leave a Reply

