“The Book is Called Opportunity and it’s first chapter is called New Year’s Day.” -Edith Lovejoy Pierce

I am aware that I posted yesterday but there is something on my mind today and I have been trying to figure out what to do with it. After trying to sort through my thoughts today, I kept returning to my computer because I wanted to look for stuff I want for my sewing machine.

Later in the day I started thinking about working on my cooking skills. I sent a message to my friend asking her what her favorite spices were because there are a lot of spices we don’t have. I love spices but I don’t have as many as I’d like.

These thoughts led to another goal/resolution for the year; I want to work on my skills, the skills my grandma was trying to teach me for at least 5 years. I know I won’t become a master at any of it but enriching my knowledge and gaining experience is what this year is going to be about.

I usually make the usual resolutions that everyone makes: lose weight, drink less soda and more water, exercise regularly, be a kinder person…so on and so forth. Of course, I usually fail but I am going to change my outlook this year. One day in church we talked about not making new year’s resolutions but make new year’s goals because resolutions have a negative connotation whereas goals are more apt to be achieved.

I will post more about this journey, everyone needs to keep on me about this because I don’t want to look back at this year on December 31st at 11:59pm wondering where the time went and why I didn’t do all that I could to better myself.

On a side note, check out this WebMD article onΒ 10 Ways to Make Your New Year’s Resolutions Stick.

Thanks for sticking with me for this long and I hope to bring new stuff to you this year!

Leave a Reply

