“If you can’t figure out your purpose, figure out your passion. For your passion will lead you to right into your purpose.” -Bishop T.D. Jakes

Today I am having a hard time with my challenge that I gave myself. I have been doing pretty good with doing dishes willingly. I may not have done them every day but I did them and I was happy about it. Today is definitely like it has been. I just absolutely don’t feel like doing the dishes at all. Ya know what, that’s ok. Sometimes we get in those moods. It’s ok to have those moods/feelings. What’s not ok is dwelling on them. I know that if I suck it up and do them, I’ll feel better about myself and I know that I won’t have to worry about it. But how do I find the motivation?

I have been asking that question a lot recently. “How do I find the motivation to…” Do you motivation.jpgfind yourself asking this question? Almost every day I ask myself how I can get motivation for something. Many times, as of late, it has been “how can I find the motivation to exercise?” or “how can I find the motivation to be more healthy?” Nothing has worked for me. I know it needs to happen but it doesn’t. At times on my mission, as hard to admit it as it is, I asked “how do I find the motivation to get out of bed at 6:30 every morning?” This is ironic now because my alarm goes off at 5:00am Monday-Friday because I have school at 7:00am and then go to work right after (8:30am). Plus, I used to get up between 6:00 and 6:30 every morning in high school during the school year for seminary.

How do you find the motivation to do things that you don’t particularly enjoy? I struggle with working out because I don’t enjoy it. I struggle with being more healthy because it’s expensive and I don’t like exercise. I struggled getting out of bed at one point in my mission because I was having a rough time and I felt lost and confused. How do I get over these hurdles? Well, I very obviously got over that hurdle on my mission. It was different, then, though. I had the Lord in everything I was doing. Being a missionary you are closer to God than you had been ever before. Not to say that I am not close to my Father in Heaven but it’s just not the same. We were given these handbooks called Adjusting to Missionary Life at just the right time. I studied that daily and became such a better missionary. I found my motivation in that book. Perhaps I should crack it out again and see how I can apply it to regular, everyday life. I just need to start a routine with working out and stick to it. I need to just jump in and do it. My main issue here, really, is procrastination.

Anyway, it’s late and I have to get up in six and a half hours so I’d better sign off of here. I know that this post, like many of my posts, was mostly for me but I hope you got something out of it. Feel free to share your “how do I find the motivation to…” I’d love to hear how you can find it, too.

Leave a Reply

