“The more that you read, the more things you will know. The more that you learn, the more places you’ll go.” ― Dr. Seuss

I enjoy reading, which is something that people don’t do so much anymore. When I was in Third grade I was told I was in a first grade reading level and it would be hard for me to catch up. I was always a slow reader and didn’t quite understand all that was going on. Now, I can read an entire book in about a day and I understand it greatly. By the time I was in middle school, English was my favorite subject.

Now I want to share a list of books that I have enjoyed reading throughout my life so here it is:

  1. Everything on a Waffle -Polly Horvath
  2. Little House on the Prairie – Laura Ingalls Wilder
  3. Nancy Drew -Carolyn Keene
  4. Harry Potter -J.K. Rowling
  5. If I have a Wicked Stepmother, Where’s My Prince? -Melissa Kantor

Now, these are books that really helped me in some way. There are lessons to learn in just about every book but sometimes it takes time to figure out each lesson. For example, Harry Potter teaches us about friendship, loyalty, depression, death, and many other things.

Reading can take you places that you never expected to go. It’s an escape from the reality in which we live and takes us to some place all in our heads. I know there are many people, like my husband, who claim that they don’t enjoy reading but I believe that they just haven’t truly given reading a chance. Sometimes, people are turned off of reading before it really ever began. Some schools press it so much, like for the kids I nannied, that they cry when told it’s time to read. It breaks my heart and I hope that my children find their own love reading.

What books did you grow up reading? What did you get out of them? How has reading books changed your life?

Thanks for reading my blog! Keep coming back to stay updated on all things in Carra’s life!

Leave a Reply

