“A man is but the product of his thoughts what he thinks, he becomes.” -Gandhi

12167232_1475581179416942_1658765678_n

I saw the above picture on my Facebook feed and felt the need to share it. All too often we get into those times in life where we do the opposite of what this says. We choose to be everything negative. Why? Why all the negativity in life? I was getting really negative when I was beginning high school and my wonderful grandma, who raised me, bought me a book to help with my miserable lump of “bleh.” I recommend it to anyone and everyone. How to be Totally Miserable is an awesome book! Here’s what it looks like:

how to be totally miserable

Anyway, I was just thinking about all the negativity in my life and, no, we cannot change others but we can change ourselves. I was thinking to myself about what I could change in myself to make my life more positive. One thing I can do is be more patient. I don’t mean more with waiting for things but with myself. I get frustrated with myself sometimes because I may not be as good as I should be at things and I need to remember that I cannot be perfect, no one is, and I need to just do the best I can. Which brings me to another thing, not to beat myself up. Everyone does it. We are our worst critics and boy am I hard. I have told myself for so long now that I am not that great of a writer that whenever someone compliments my writing, I often respond with “Oh, it’s not that great. There’s a lot wrong with it and I don’t think it’ll sell when, or if, I ever get published.” Negative to the max, right? It’s terrible.

I want to hear from you. What are some things that you see in yourself that need to change so you can be more positive? How do you think you can work on them? How do you think I could work on my “issues” that I have with myself? Let me know in the comments below, I’d love to hear from you. Thanks for reading!

10 Tips to Overcome Negative Thoughts: Positive Thinking Made Easy

Positive Thinking Exercises: Change Your Mindset

Positive Provocations

Mrs. Mindfulness

Leave a Reply

