“The only way to do great work is to love what you do.” -Steve Jobs

A few months ago I had posted about making a new blog. Well, that one failed and this one was still getting views while that one wasn’t. I am now back with this one. It feels more like home, anyway. I hope to post regularly but I will not promise anything. I am a pre-school teacher and a college student who is constantly busy. I want to share my life journey with you, however, so I am trying to make my blog a priority.

In the last couple of months, what have I been up to? Well, I got a job at a pre-school. I started the same day that the semester began for school. I don’t have my own classroom, I work with all of the teachers right now, but I hope to have one later. I absolutely love my job and I wouldn’t want any other job in the world right now. There is a plaque in the teacher’s break room that reads “I’m a teacher, what’s your super power.” I love this plaque and it is so true. Just like being a mom gives you “super powers,”  there is something magical and special about being a teacher. Sometimes teachers have so much to deal with but they keep going with a smile on their face and a pep in their step. Why? Because they love what they do. If you are a teacher and you don’t love what you do, perhaps you should reconsider your career choice. When you love what you blur-the-line-between-work-and-playthe children will see it, as well as feel it. They can tell when you don’t want to be there, they are often smarter than we give them credit for.

I have also started school, as I previously mentioned. I am taking two classes again this semester, math and child development. Until today, it has been very easy in both classes. Today I am to the point where I want to burn my math book and just walk away. But, I cannot do such, as I need math in order to get my degree. I have a whole year of math left, sadly. Also, my child development class is not very exciting. My teacher is…interesting. She requires you to read in the books, there are two books and one of them I do not have because I could not find it anywhere other than the school bookstore. I had emailed her about the matter before the semester began and she never got back to me. She lectures the entire time and it makes you want to fall into a deep slumber. She will ask a question, you will start to answer and then she will interrupt you in the middle of your thought and go onto something else. She has very…different views of so many things. For example, she has stated that she does not understand the “white peoples’ obsession with the American flag.” This definitely because as no less than shock to me co-worker, who is also taking the class, and I. Anyway, I am sure you can tell that I am not throughly enjoying either class at the moment. We actually have an exam in my child development class tomorrow, I have the class on Tuesday evenings only. I am not very excited about it but what can I do?

All else in life is going wonderfully. We are planning a Halloween party, which I’m sure I will post about at a later time, and just staying very busy. I hope you all enjoyed your Monday and have a fabulous Tuesday.

Leave a Reply

