“You’re different. I like it.” -The Corpse Bride

Today I want to talk to you about an activity that my best friend and I have embarked on. First, I want to ask you all a question, though. Have you seen The Corpse Bride? It’s a Tim Burton movie and I’m not going to tell you about the movie but it’s pretty awesome. My post will get into why this is important but if you have then just think about Emily, the bride (the dead one, not the live one).

Next month, my best friend (Redheaded Owl) , her boyfriend, my husband and I are all going to the Labyrinth Masquerade Ball in Los Angeles, California. It is required that you either A) dress in costume or B) dress in formal wear. Of course, we decide that we will be in costume. It’s kind of like cosplaying, which I have never done. Nevertheless, I love dressing up in costume, which is why Halloween is my number one favorite holiday. Redheaded owl decided pretty quickly that she was going to dress as a fairy. I thought about doing the same thing because I have most of what is needed for a fairy costume. Then, I really thought about it and decided to ask if it would fit with the theme to be something dead (I am usually something dead). She got super excited and was eager to help me find a costume. Well, I reminded her that I still had my old thrift store wedding dress (I thought about wearing it for my actual wedding but found a better one I absolutely loved) that was only $26. We thought for a second about what we could do with it and quickly decided that it would be a perfect Corpse Bride costume, after we made a few adjustments to it. Well, with about a month left until the ball, we decided to start on those adjustments.

corpse bride underworld

It’s not too much of an activity but in a way it is. We started working on it. It took a lot of time, though. And we haven’t gotten very far, yet. Really, we just cut up the dress and added some of the blue. We still need to finish the blue, get some blueish tights and add white paint to make bones (using a stencil of sorts) then get another pair and make them for my arms. We also need to get the blueish body paint, a wig, and make the little maggot. Oh, we need to make the flower crown and veil as well, which we bought the stuff already we just need to put it together.

Here are some of the things I just mentioned, if you are thinking of making your own Emily costume:

Maggot       ///        Wig       ///         Makeup Tutorial      ///     Blue flowers

Also, here is the dress… (it is an A-line Jasmine dress that I found at Goodwill):

imageedit_2_3494688186

imageedit_2_9565242003

Also, here are two images I found on Google to help you see other people cosplaying Emily…

burtonesque-corpse-08

burtonesque-corpse-03

I will have to post again after the Masquerade Ball with how I look. I hope it turns out well! I still have so much work to do on my dress so here is to hoping!

Leave a Reply

