“God won’t give you more than you can bare. He might let you bend but he won’t let you break.” -Unknown

Almost two years ago, I received a letter in the mail from someone I admire very much. She wrote me often, it’s our favorite means of communication (other than in person) because we feel that snail mail is more personal than a text or email. Anyway, in this letter she included a short one-page story that she had written and dedicated to me. Upon reading it, I cried. I actually shared it with many people and also used it in a homework assignment last semester. I do not and will not ever take credit for it, it is completely hers. So, without further ado, here it is.

Once Upon a Time…

…There was born a little girl, with hair of while gold. She was a beloved and special child, even the daughter of the Lord of the Manor. Though his child was dearly beloved and cherished, the Lord, being extremely wise, chose not to provide her a privileged life of ease and plenty, least it should destroy her inner strength and beauty.

At birth, this little girl was placed in the temporary care of one who, herself, needed much care. This priceless little one was often neglected, forgotten, or even out of sight of her Father, the Lord of the Manor.As the years seemingly slowly crept by, the child, at times, was confused, as her true, inner child and sense of worth collided with the realities of her barren life, devoid of the proper care of one so highly valued. Her father watched and waited!

Early childhood passed by, and the little girl’s Father could see that His daughter was beginning to lose confidence in herself, and was about to forget whose child she really was. Realizing the need for a change, He stepped forward , and arranged for a new set of caretakers to fill the voids in her life. He now chose individuals who had matured, and had learned from their experiences. This couple knew that giving and receiving love, along with being connected with one’s true self, are, in deed, the most valuable attributes in this life, if one is to grow and “blossom.” Her Father watched, and waited!

And “blossomed” she did! The child had survived bare and infertile years, and yet, those years had not been unprofitable. She had moved on, not as a spoiled, pampered child of the Manor, but as a girl with “eyes wide open.” She had acquired the qualities of selflessness, resilience, gratitude, and appreciation for all and any food that came her way. Expecting little, she began to receive much!

The couple knew of her past experiences and, with all their hearts, built a loving and true home for the young, golden-haired girl. They were also quite wise, and sought from her Father’s advice, the wisdom to guide her through the years to come. They provided for all of her needs, and helped her to grow in light and knowledge. For the first time in her young life, she was living in a world compatible with her true identity and worth, and she soared. Just as her Father knew she would!

Then, many years later, the time came when this loving, caring couple, was needed by the Lord of the Manor, elsewhere. He knew that his precious daughter had matured enough to stand on her own with his grace, beauty, truth, and trusted friends at her side. She had weathered well her early years, and benefited. She had basked for a season in the glow of love, validation and learning, and benefitted.

Her Father, ever closer now, and as He reaffirmed the wisdom of His plan, He placed great confidence in her future.

He called her to ride, and go forth, fully prepared to help others to learn and to grow. This precious and beloved child had now become a custodial daughter of the Lord of the Manor, just as He knew she would.

-E. Drysdale

I hope you all enjoyed it. She is a great writer and I love the meaning behind this. It is about my troubled life as a very small girl and how I over came it with the help of my grandparents (whom I lived with for 10 years), who passed away when I was in high school. It was all hard on me but I what I have experienced has taught me so much and it’s all apart of who I am and who I will become.

Thank you for reading again today. If you have any inspiring stories, poems, or anything, I would love to help you share them to the world. Just comment below and let me know and I will get them from you and I will let you know how to get it to me.

Also, if you have a story that has inspired you, I would love to hear about it! Just comment and let me know.

Leave a Reply

