“Learning is not a race to information, it is a walk to discovery.” -Unknown

In my child development class right now, we have to come up with thirteen different lesson plans and then present three of those to the class. Two out of the three we present to the class we have to present to at the child development center. I will be doing my first presented class activity on Tuesday and I am actually quite excited about it. It’s called Ice Egg Excavation. I originally saw the idea for Glow in the Dark Ice Egg Excavation but decided that Tonic water was too much and there is a whole controversy on it being healthy or not so I figured it would be ok to not use it and just use tap water. Pinterest has a few different ideas, I’ll include the link below.

What I did was I took a box of small animals and, with the help of my dear husband, shoved them (gently) into balloons then filed those balloons with water. Once they are filled and tied, I place them in the freezer and leave them there overnight. I made 2 a few days ago so I was able to look at them last night, when I had the chance. When you’re ready to use them, you cut off the balloon and voila! All you do id put them in a tray or bowl and give the children little droppers and a cup of luke-warm water to drop on the ice eggs to melt them. Watch their amazement as the animal/dinosaur/treasure some out. I love it.

This activity can be done inside or outside but I would prefer to do it outside when it’s a little warmer but not too out out. It’s a great way to keep them cool!

imageedit_1_5658400762

Pinterest.com Ice Egg Excavation Ideas

Have you tired a similar activity? How did it go? What did they kids think? Leave us feedback in the comments! Thank you for reading.

Leave a Reply

