“In every job that must be done, there is an element of fun.” -Mary Poppins

I am a nanny and this quote seemed to fit my (new) Monday weekly posts. On Mondays I will be Posting something about my adventures as a nanny. But this week I want to talk about how I got this job…

Let’s go back…a few years. Before I started college I wasn’t ever sure what I wanted to do but I knew I wanted to work with children. I had baby sat in the past and thought about being a nanny but wasn’t sure if that would work out. Well, in 2011 I decided that I wanted to major in Child Development and started down that path. It was exciting, I loved the classes I took (and still am taking, and yes, I still love them). Summer of 2012 I got my first nanny type of job. I was a “Mother’s Helper” for a few months and loved it. I took care of 4 children, ages 4,6,8, and 10. I didn’t do much but I came to love it. I then worked as a cafeteria helper at an elementary school, which was fun because you never know what kinds of children you will run into. After that I began working at a daycare, which my BFF Michaela had told me about, and I felt like THAT WAS WHAT I NEEDED TO DO IN LIFE (yes, that needed to be in all caps). I had finally figured out what I wanted to do. Sadly, only after 2 months of working there she fired me because…well, she told me that because she knew I needed the money and wanted me to look for another job on top of that one (I was working 1 hour a day, 5 days a week). ย Well, I got a job interview at Build-A-Bear, which I had been applying to quite often since I had turned 18 and I was excited. The interview was about an hour before work and it was near my work so I thought it would be great because interviews take 5-15 minutes, right? WRONG! An interview at Build-A-Bear lasts an hour and a half because it’s a group interview. I was late for work and called her as soon as the interview was over and she fired me over the phone. I wasn’t too happy about it. And then I didn’t even get the job at Build-A-Bear. Oh well, such is life. It’s not like I made much anyway…I felt like what I was making all went to gas anyway, since I lived all the way across town.

Fast forward 2 years (because I was gone for 18 months on my LDS mission after that) and I began applying for child care jobs left and right. I went onto care.com and applied for every listing on there. I was given an interview from a mom of 4 children; 2-year-old boy, 3-year-old twin girls, and a 6-year-old boy. I went to the interview and she liked me and wanted me to go to “phase 2” where I meet the kids. Well, I guess that didn’t go well because she didn’t hire me. A week after that, I got another interview for the job I have now. I love the family and the boys, even though they are crazy, I love them.

Tune in next week to hear what goes on in my life as a nanny.

nanny post
This is when we go to the park to get some sun and to burn some energy.
We like to get crafty and this is what we come up with. I mae the big ladybug, the girl, and the little fuzzy purple monster
We like to get crafty and this is what we come up with. I mae the big ladybug, the girl, and the little fuzzy purple monster
Leave a Reply

