Sister Carra Miller’s Mission Adventures 8/19/13

Every week I am adding new people to my email list, or so it seems. But I enjoy telling y’all about my week! And Hello to those that are just now getting my emails, if you want my previous emails I can send them as well, just let me know.

So I made a list of things I want to write about this week rather than just going on about my days. First things is the exchange we had. And exchange is when there are my companion and I are split with another companionship. Sister Simmons, my companion, was here in Greer with our Sister Training Leader Sister McHaley while I was in Spartenburg, SC with our other Sister Training Leader, Sister Stout. It was an awesome experience and I have learned so much from that. For example, I have learned to use the back of my planner as I am supposed to. Any RMs or current missionaries know the importance of a planner but I never really used the back of mine for my contacts. Now I do. Like my mission president, President Holm, always says “we are developing not developed.”

Also, I would like to ask all of you for advice on how my companion and I could boost our attendance at our Book of Mormon Class. Currently our average of attendees is….zero. Occationally we’ll have one person show up but that’s rare. We’ve been doing this for almost 18 weeks and nothing has changed. We don’t want to kill the class but we may have to if no one shows up. We’ve thought about putting it in the paper but that costs money. And we hand out flyers all the time. *sigh* We don’t know where to go with this.

Another thing I’ve been doing lately is looking at my family tree. It’s super exciting. For anyone who would like to learn more about their geneology I encourage you to visit familysearch.org because it is amazing. I have discovered one of my lines to go back all the way to 31B.C. How cool is that? And I have found that their is tond of royalty in my family as well. My ancestors are from: England, Romania, Germany, Hungary, Switzerland, Scotland, Ireland, and a few other places. And that’s just on my mom’s dad’s side of the family. I have 3 other lines to go back to! Again, I encourage all of you to check it out. Who knows, we could be related. And if you aren’t sure how to get started, visit your nearest family history center. I know there’s one at the church on Sierra Ave. It’s completely free too!!

I have a question for everyone as well, does mail still run on Saturdays? I was told that it would stop running on Saturdays in August and I wasn’t sure if it was true or not.

The weather here is wonderful, as people were asking about it. It has been an unusually cool August, which I LOVE! It rains all the time, which I also LOVE. I wish it rained half as much as it does here in Fresno. Maybe then it wouldn’t be so hot there. I was told it’s been pretty much in the 100’s all summer.

I also want to wish everyone good luck this semester/year in school because I know school is starting back up. A piece of me misses school, partially because my English is failing me, but the rest of me is kinda glad I’m not going to school right now. I’m sure everyone will do great!

Last thing I wanted to bring up is…..SATURDAY IS MY BEST FRIEND MICHAELA MATTHEWS BIRTHDAY! SHE’S GOING TO BE 20! HAPPY BIRTHDAY MICHAELA!!!! LOVE YOU!!!!!

I hope everyone has a great week this week. And please, feel free to ask any questions about my mission, I’d love to answer them!

Sincerely,

Sister Carra Skye Miller

102_1589
Me showing my SC pride 🙂
Leave a Reply

