Sister Carra Miller’s Mission Adventures 7/22/13

Hello my wonderful friends and family, this is my weekly email to everyone. I have like 20 minutes to type this out so I hope I can do it LOL. Anyway, so first off I want everyone to know that just because I am sending this out does not mean I don’t want replies. I just want to only type out what is going on in my life once rather than 22 times (as there are 22 people who are getting this email). I love talking to each of you, but most of you want to know how things are going out here and this is easier and faster, as I onlu have 1 hour and 15 minutes to be on the computer.

So this past week has been crazy. So many of the people I am teaching are really struggling. I wish there were something more I could do. Anything. I hate seeing the people I have grown to love suffor and not be able to do anything. All I can do is pray and teach them and help them. My prayers have gone from like 3 minutes back home to now about 8 to 10 minutes long. It’s amazing all the things I talk to Heavenly Father about.

So last Monday, Sister Simmons and I went to McDonald’s and got happy meals because they have little minions in them and we both LOVE minions. We thought about going again today and getting another minion but we decided to cook instead.

Tuesday was amazing! We were on an exchange so for the day I was with abother sister, Sister Belyea (bell yay) who is from Utah. We went to our Book of Mormon class that we have every Tuesday at 7:00pm and, sadly as usual, no one showed up. So we were talking with a member of the bishopric about somethings then a guy comes in who is an atheist wanting to know about the church. He has been through a lot in his life, he’s about 60, and he feels like there is something missing in him life. We ended up talking to him for about an hour and a half because there was so much to tell him. It was an amazing experience and I know that miracles can and do come from exchanges.

Wednesday was another normal day, we did our usual missionary work. We do missionary work not missionary things 🙂 And we were fed by a lady in the ward, Sister Kim Coggins. And then there was an aweful storm and we had to stay at her house for like an extra hour or so. It was a crazy storm, power was out everywhere and trees down. Sister Coggin’s daughter got into an accident that evening, after we left.

Thurday we met some really cool people. We were referred to this couple, the Lambeths, and they have so many questions. We are actually going to see them this evening. And this other couple, the Herrs, who were taught by missionaries a few months ago. We are having dinner with them tonight. But that night we had Chinese food with this nice couple, the Hill family. They have a daughter that just got married and is going into the Army in September I think.

Friday we had a few meetings and went on momron.org for an hour, which we do once a week. We learn so much by searching mormon.org (Yasmin I found your profile because you are the only Yasmin) and lds.org. It amazes me all that we can learn in just the hour we have. We had dinner with another awesome family, the Nielsons. The Hill’s daughter married one of the Nielson boys.

Saturday Vivian had her baptismal interview and now she is all ready to go for her baptism on July 27. We are all super excited and we are getting the ward involved as much as possible. A few people are even making treats for the baptism! We had dinner with a recently baptized member, the Maker family. We had pizza with coliflower crust. It was super good, y’all should try it some time.
Sunday was another wonderful day at church. Then we went to dinner at the Ruff’s house (proniunced Roof). They are really into food storage and canning and all that good stuff. Awesome family.
Now today, we have a lot of fun things planned. I’ll let y’all know how today goes next week. But here is a little southern English lesson for y’all:

Skreet = Street
SKressed = Stressed
Skrength = Strength
Striptures = Scriptures
Y’all = You guys
All y’all = Everyone

I hope y’all have a wonderful week! And if anyone else you know would like to get my weekly emails or want to hear from me, tell them to email me or give me either email. The more the merrier, right? And if anyone ever wants to send me letter, I wouldn’t object 🙂 I love getting mail.

Sincerely,

Sister Carra Skye Miller

3 Nephi 5:13
13 Behold, I am a disciple of Jesus Christ, the Son of God. I have been acalled of him to declare his word among his people, that they might have everlasting life.

This is Sister Belyea and I on our exchange
This is Sister Belyea and I on our exchange
Leave a Reply

