“Oh I don’t wanna grow up, wish I’d never grown up” -Taylor Swift

I know now that when the words “I can’t wait to be an adult” came out of my mouth, I was saying something I would later find stupid. It is now later and I find it absurd! Who in their right mind would want to EVER be an adult? There’s bills and life-changing decisions and heartache involved and an endless journey full of wrong turns. If all young children knew that they’d never want to grow up. I know that if I had known exactly what to expect I’d beg to be little forever. But we have no choice in the matter. We continuously grow and change and the world grows and changes with us. As we age, we learn more. Also, with age comes responsibility. What? Not more responsibility! Yes, more responsibility. You have to get a job, some form of transportation (typically a car which also includes gas), school-if that’s the route you have chosen, a family, TONS of bills….the list just gets bigger and bigger as you age. I’m not writing this to scare anyone but for those of you still in high school that are reading this, stay young as long as you can. Go hang out with your friends, be a kid as long as you can because once it’s gone, you can’t get it back. Once you have a kid of your own, you really need to grow up and teach them how to live their life properly. So live it up! Stay up late, eat junk food until you puke, have crushes on boys/girls, do what makes you happy. But also, please keep your studies in mind. Just because you feel high school is pointless doesn’t mean it doesn’t determine what will happen in your life. For many things in life you need at least a high school diploma and for other things you need at least some college credits. Do your best, you can do it. You will face people who will tell you that you can’t but I know that you can because I, too, was told countless times throughout my life that I couldn’t do it. Whether it was from my peers, my family, or myself, I heard it all the time. Don’t give up.

I don’t want this to turn into a lecture post or anything so I will stop here. I really do hope you teenagers really let what I have said stir in your mind. Remember, you are young, you have so much life to live and you have plenty of time to get older. Live in the moment. I hope this has helped you. Thanks for reading.

Leave a Reply

