“A smile happens in a flash, but its memory can last a lifetime.” -Author Unknown

My titles are going to be quotes, just so you know lol.

So, as so many of you know, I come from a past of many overcome challenges. Do I think I have suffered more than everyone else? Nope. Everyone struggles with different things in their lives and different times. Some people go through so much as a child and continue to go through tough times and some have it quite easy as children but go through so much pain and trial as an adult. Being born to a mother who could not put her priorities in line the right way, I guess you could say my childhood was rough. I started out life in Texas, where I spent the first part of my life up until after kindergarten, living with my mom and two brothers from my mom’s previous relationship. I think right after kindergarten my brothers went to go stay with their dad because my mom was not fit to be a mother but I couldn’t go because my mom was my legal guardian  This, in turn made my mom mad. We eventually moved to California and my mom found trouble at every corner and sent me to live with one of her friends in Arizona. That was a bad experience for me and I blocked most of it out of my mind. My grandma went and picked me up from there and from then on I was raised my her and the man I grew up to call my grandpa. I never met my real grandfather because my mom didn’t like him. For the first few years, it was difficult to adjust to living with someone other than my mom. I would have to sleep in my grandma’s bed with her and found myself scared because I was afraid my mom would come in and take me. She did do this before, she had taken me from school after I had stayed with my grandparents for about a month, that’s when she sent me away to Arizona. School was hard for me, I fell so behind while living with my mom because I hardly ever attended school, therefore I was held back a year. To some that would be a curse, but to me I see it as a blessing. I started going to church at that point, not really understanding it, and found myself very active in all the activities they had. I eventually started to see in myself what everyone else saw and began going somewhere in life. In fifth grade, I found out what true talent was through my teacher Mrs. Yates. She entered me into a writing contest and from that day on I knew I wanted to be a writer. English was always my favorite subject and that just made it that much more exciting for me. In sixth grade I started to make friends but they didn’t stay long after we started middle school but i middle school I met people who were just like me in so many ways. Two of those girls are still my best friends and they are like family to me. I was so excited that for the first time in my life, I had REAL friends who loved me for who I was and would never leave me. We went through so much together, we still go through so much together. In high school, I moved to Missouri and said goodbye to all of those friends I had made, it was one of the hardest things I ever had to do. But that didn’t last long because a year later I was back. My grandparents had passed away from a car accident and I went to live with my aunt and uncle. It wasn’t too hard adjusting but not easy either. A new-ish school with new people. I wanted to go back to Missouri. I quickly made friends though and I even got to travel the world. Now I am graduated and I have completed 3 semesters of college but I knew something was missing in my life and I couldn’t put my finger on it. I continuously failed my college courses and I felt like i was stuck in a rut. I didn’t see myself going anywhere. But then in October, I was reading the talks from General Conference from church and they talked about missions and right there in my little apartment on that leather couch, all bundled up in my blanket, reading those talks, that’s when I knew what was missing in my life. That is the moment I KNEW what I had to do. I went to the bishop, told him I wanted to serve a mission and I started my papers. I started my papers in early November and turned them into the bishop the last Sunday in November. My papers were sent to Utah in late December and now I am just waiting for that letter to tell me where in the world (literally) I am going.

I’m sorry this was so long. I love you all and I’ll try to write less next time. But if you know me, you know my love of writing gets out of hand sometimes. Until next time everyone!

♥ always,

Carra Skye

My brothers and I when I was very little
One thought on ““A smile happens in a flash, but its memory can last a lifetime.” -Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

